Angebote zu "Collisions" (5 Treffer)

Atomic Spectra and Collisions in External Field...
€ 73.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
(€ 73.99 / in stock)

Atomic Spectra and Collisions in External Fields:

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: Dec 21, 2018
Zum Angebot
Atomic Spectra and Collisions in External Field...
€ 64.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Atomic Spectra and Collisions in External Fields:Physics of Atoms and Molecules. Softcover reprint of the original 1st ed. 1988

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: Dec 21, 2018
Zum Angebot
Collision of Empires (eBook, ePUB)
€ 8.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Although the myriad of alliances and suspicions that existed between the Russian, German, and Austro-Hungarian empires in the early 20th century proved to be one of the primary triggers for the outbreak of the First World War, much of the actual fighting between these three nations has been largely forgotten in the West. Whilst battles such as Ypres, the Somme, and Passchendaele have been inscribed deeply on the public consciousness, with the exception of perhaps Tannenberg, the conflicts in the East do not hold the same recognition. In his new book, Prit Buttar seeks to correct this imbalance with a magisterial account of the chaos and destruction that reigned when three powerful empires collided. His harrowing narrative is driven by first-hand accounts and new, detailed archival research to create a dynamic retelling of the tumultuous events of the first year of the war, examining the battles of the Masurian Lakes and Tannenberg in East Prussia, followed by the Russo-Austrian clashes in Galicia, the failed German advance towards Warsaw, and the vicious fighting in the Carpathian mountains. Buttar reveals how delays in adapting to a modern war and inadequacies in supply and support arrangements, combined with a failure to plan for a long war, left the Central Powers struggling to keep up with events, and having to come to terms with the dreaded reality of a war on two fronts while Russia was driven towards revolution. A war that was initially seen by all three powers as a welcome opportunity to address both internal and external issues would ultimately bring about the downfall of them all.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 21, 2019
Zum Angebot
Form: My Autobiography , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 4...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Kieren Fallon was one of the world´s greatest jockeys, but his career was littered with controversial incidents. Now, in his powerful and honest autobiography, he tells all. Unabridged audio read by Frank Grimes. British Champion Jockey six times - without terrifying injury and mental trauma it could have been many more - he won more than 2,250 races, including the Derby three times, the Prix de l´Arc de Triomphe twice, and more 2,000 and 1,000 Guineas (nine) than anyone else in the history of the sport. He was also accused of race fixing, resulting in an astonishing Old Bailey trial at which he was completely cleared. No-one would question his ability in the saddle. Few, if any, have ever been as good at coaxing the best out of their rides. But his extraordinary rapport with the horse has not quite been matched by his dealings with humans - particularly not those in authority with whom he´s had a career-long battle. Now Fallon recalls his rise from a rural Irish family with no racing connections, and his frequent collisions with the media as well as many of the people who run the sport. With wit as well as absolute frankness, he tells of the huge pressures on top jockeys - even those without his external problems - and how his dazzling riding career was marred, then brought to a premature halt by campaigns of lies and innuendo. Brutally honest as well as entertaining, this is a unique sporting memoir. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Frank Grimes. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/ssuk/000034/bk_ssuk_000034_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot
Sudden Decompression , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 172min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´´Out of every 100 men, 10 shouldn´t even be there, 80 are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior and he will bring the others back.´´ (Heraclitus, 5 B.C) Sometimes the last man standing is a woman: The Near Future, a balkanized Earth drowns in greed and violence. Kali Muse, private military contractor on the shuttle Whiskey & Water, earns a living in Hostile Salvage, pulling artifacts and forgotten wealth out of the poisoned rubble of the planet´s numerous hot zones. Constantly trying to outrun her haunted past she pulls a long forgotten secret from a desiccated corpse, changing the course of her life. ´´You can´t spell slaughter without laughter.´´ (Anonymous) Possession of the salvaged information threatens to change the delicate political balance of the world, setting Kali on a collision course with murderous government agencies, ruthless mercenaries and worst of all; her ex-lover. ´´Your current plans remind me of act four in Julius Caesar,´´ Tom said. ´´In act five, everyone falls on their swords.´´ (Stephen King, Cell) Sudden Decompression is a fast paced para-military Science Fiction novel revolving around external conflict, personal betrayal and the price of loyalty. Fans of David Drake and John Ringo will find the action they demand mixed with an astute exploration of what our world will look like 15-minutes-into-the-future. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Joe Matic. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/002682/bk_acx0_002682_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Dec 17, 2018
Zum Angebot